Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

background image

Kenny Perry Wins 2014 3M Championship

August 10, 2014

Kenny Perry is the winner of the 2014 3M Championship, besting 2009 and 2012 champion Bernhard Langer by one stroke after a dramatic birdie putt on the final hole.  Perry bookended a second-day 63 with opening and closing round 65s to finish the tournament at 23-under par 193.  Perry’s three-day total ties 2008 winner R. W. Eaks for the second-lowest score in the tournament’s 22-year history and only two off David Frost’s record 25-under 191 when he won the event in 2010.

3M Championship newcomers Jeff Maggert, Marco Dawson, Vijay Singh, Paul Goydos, and Wes Short, Jr., who had a 10-under 62 on the final day and was one off the tournament record set by Frost in 2010, all finished in the top ten in the event. Goydos, who turned 50 in June, made his Champions Tour debut at the 3M Championship.

1997, 1999 and 2002 3M Championship winner Hale Irwin bettered his age (69) all three days by shooting rounds of 68, 66 and 68 to finish at 14-under par and tied for ninth place in the tournament.

Jack Nicklaus made his 3M Championship debut in the Post-It® Products Greats of Golf Challenge competition.  He joined the other two of golf’s Big Three of Arnold Palmer and Gary Player for the first time in the 11-year history of the Greats of Golf Challenge.  Palmer captained the women’s team of Annika Sorenstam, Nancy Lopez and Pat Bradley while Nicklaus and Player were joined by fellow World Golf Hall of Fame member, Lee Trevino.  The tournament saw record-shattering crowds on Saturday as the Greats wowed the gallery.

The 3M Championship donated another $1.3 million to benefit healthcare programs at Allina Health and has donated more than $24 million to charity since the tournament’s inception in 1993.

3M Championship Final Leaderboard

 1   Kenny Perry    -23  
 2   Bernhard Langer   -22
T3   Jeff Maggert   -20
    Gene Sauers   -20
    Marco Dawson   -20
 6   Mike Goodes   -18
T7   John Cook   -16
     Vijay Singh   -16
T9   Hale Irwin   -14
    Steve Elkington   -14
    Paul Goydos   -14
    Peter Senior   -14


Pro Links Sports Events

Pro Links Sports Event Pro Links Sports Event Pro Links Sports Event Pro Links Sports Event Pro Links Sports Event Pro Links Sports Event

Connect with us!


Sponsor: 3M Sponsor: Post-It Sponsor: Champions Tour Sponsor: Schwab Sponsor: Allina Sponsor: PGA Tour Sponsor: Pioneer Press

Contact Us

Indicates required fields

Your Contact Information

Your Feedback